Like any other state, Colorado also requires that owners and drivers must carry the required liability coverage as determined by the state. Carrying an active policy is a legal requirement therefore, each single owners and/or driver of an automobile must carry proof, in the absence of which, severe punishments up to the extent of cancellation of one’s driving license may be enforced. The minimum limits of liability required by law are 25/50/15. This meaning $25,000 for injury to one person in an accident, $50,000 for injuries to two or more people and $15,000 for property damage in any one accident. If one chooses to purchase coverage as a single unit, the minimum allowed limit is $65,000.
Though, comprehensive and collision are not required, in the case of vehicles purchased through loans, lenders may insist on carrying comprehensive and collision coverage till the time all installments are paid. Lenders insist on this for the security of their investment.
Like other additional options, medical payments or uninsured and/or underinsured policies are not required by law. However, there is also a limit of the pricing of uninsured/underinsured coverages, which must be offered at an amount equal to one’s bodily injury coverage (BI) or one hundred thousand dollars per person and three hundred thousand dollars per accident, whichever is less.
However, due to numerous products and each with unique features and facilities, many professionals suggest for one to seek advice from an expert in the industry. However, now there are few leading advisory companies available online that can provide a wealth of information on their websites. These sites can offer the ability to compare multiple car insurance quotes within a matter of minutes. By completing a comparison of prices from various insurers, it helps to ensure that the proper Colorado car insurance policy is found at an affordable rate.
About the author
Licensed auto insurance broker